Quality standard  
page 01  



SA 8000, which is the first standard governing employees’ working condition under Social Accountability International (SAI), provides a framework for independent assessment by a third party certification body, as in the cases of ISO 9000 quality management system and ISO 14000 environmental management system.

It is thus our great concern to refer to SA 8000 set of social accountability standards and guidance document to achieve your Factory Assessment requirements.
The Social Accountability Standards deal with the following criteria:

  1. Child Labour. Prohibits child labour (under age 15 in most cases). Certified companies must also allocate funds for the education of children who might lose jobs as a result of this standard.
  2. Forced Labour. Workers cannot be required to surrender their identity papers or pay "deposits" as a condition of employment.
  3. Health and Safety. Companies must meet basic standards for a safe and healthy working environment, including drinkable water, restroom facilities, applicable safety equipment, and necessary training.
  4. Freedom of Association. Protects the rights of workers to form and join trade unions and to bargain collectively, without fear of reprisals.
  5. Discrimination. No discrimination on the basis of race, caste, national origin, religion, disability, gender, sexual orientation, union membership, or political affiliation.
  6. Disciplinary Practices. Forbids corporal punishment, mental or physical coercion and verbal abuse of workers.
  7. Working Hours. Provides for a maximum 48-hour work week, with a minimum one day off per week, and a cap of 12 hours overtime per week remunerated at a premium rate.
  8. Compensation. Wages paid must meet all minimum legal standards and provide sufficient income for basic needs, with at least some discretionary income.
  9. Management Practices. Defines procedures for effective management implementation and review of SA 8000 compliance, from designating responsible personnel to keeping records, addressing concerns and taking corrective actions.

ASTM D5430 4-point system

This system is mostly used in textile industry around the globe now. This test method describes a procedure to establish a numerical designation for grading of fabrics from a visual inspection. It may be used for the delivery and acceptance of fabrics with requirements mutually agreed upon by the purchaser and the supplier. This system does not establish a quality level for a given product, but rather provides a means of defining defects according to their severity by assigning demerit point values. All type of fabrics whether grey or finished, can be graded by this system.

Defect Demerit Point

Length of defect

Demerit Points

3 inches or less


Over 3 inches but not over 6 inches


Over 6 inches but not over 9 inches


Over 9 inches



1. No running yard shall be penalized more than 4 points for warp and weft defects.

2. For Fabric width exceeding 64"-66", Maximum penalty points can be increased above 4 per linear yard in proportion to the width.

3. Defects appearing within one inch of either edge shall be disregarded.

4. Any hole other than a pin hole shall be considered a major defect and assigned 4 points for penalty.


  01 02 03 04 ::: next :::


Home    About Us    Our Services    Quality Standard    Scope & Rate    Contact US

Copyright ©2005 Daintily Quality Consulting Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.